Photograph by Samir Sa

American Male

Be Part Of The Narrative: Oakland, California, USA

*The content featured was not written nor represent the expressed views of the featured model or photographer.

Photograph by Samir Sa

 I have been through so much but yet they do not see. For I cannot fit with my own race or other races. I just want them to not judge me by what the media portrays. I want the opportunity to share my story and let people know I am completely different from what they assume about me and my race. Please don’t judge me until you get to know me. I spent the last 22 years fighting for my life. Since the day I made it to the earth from my mother’s womb, it has been a struggle. I worked hard to not fall into the norm and rise above the expectations they had for me. But as I began to climb people around me began to sink and sink. They did not see me progression as something positive but more like I was changing for something different. They exiled me because my grandparents decided they wanted something different for me. I was not raised by my parents and miss every opportunity that so many take for granted everyday. But as I climbed higher the fewer blacks I saw. Yes, I am a African-American male. I fight everyday in college to continue to beat the odds that are stacked up against me. I don’t have to have the American dream but just a simple life better than that of my grandparents will do me just fine. To have some form of friends who understand the struggle I have come through and potential I have within myself.You will probably never see as an American Male because the color of my skin. But I am just as American as you and want to be treated as an individual, before I get judged for my race.

Photograph by Samir Sa

American Male

Submit Your Journal Entry By Clicking On The “Be Part Of The Narrative” Link.

Photograph by Samir Sa

Often described as a blog, an online magazine, a journal, when examined further the description changes and it becomes a project, an objective, a mission. American Male is one simple thing. It is a collection of different thoughts and experiences so come share yours and be part of the narrative.

website: bepartofthenarrative.com – info contact@bepartofthenarrative.com

